School Leadership Team

Updated June 12, 2017

The School Leadership Team (SLT) consists of parents, administrators and staff members who work together to determine the structure for school-based planning and make associated policy decisions. Many of the responsibilities of the SLT revolve around creating and implementing the Comprehensive Educational Plan for the school.

The SLT, which meets on the second Thursday of each month at 8am, is made up of 50% parents and 50% YCS staff.  The Principal and PTA president are automatically on the team; parent members are elected by the General Membership and serve a two-year term. The current SLT members’ terms are expiring at the end of June.

Any parent/guardian of an YCS child is eligible to be nominated for one of the four parent member positions during that meeting. You do not need to be present at the meeting to be nominated, but may prepare a statement to be read in your absence. Elections will be held that same meeting after nominations are closed and candidate statements.

Below are the elected SLT members with terms running from July 2015 through June 2017.

School Leadership Team Members

Samantha Kaplan – Principal
Nesli Ciner – PTA Co President
Ruth Berghammer – PTA Co President
Natalie Friedman – Parent
Randi Dubno-Gardner – Parent
Nina Miller – Parent
Alex Oberweger – Parent
Kimberly Givner – UFT / Guidance

(note: Teacher representatives will be assigned once the school year begins)


Site 3